High Court

The High Court was the judicial arm of the First Terran Empire. The Court itself consisted of a panel of nine Justices (one from each Province and Special Territory). The High Court also managed several thousand lower courts: a Circuit Court for each Province, Planetary Courts for each planet, and Local Courts for settlements and smaller political divisions. A formally-defined appeals procedure led upward through the various levels of Courts, with the High Court being the ultimate voice.

High Court decisions could only be reversed or altered by the Emperor acting in combination with the Imperial Council.

Officials of the High Court wore dark red uniforms.

Clerical support for the Courts was often supplied by the Bureaucratic Corps.

copyright © 2003, Don Sakers
All rights reserved